League One

2 Jul 2022

Hunslet survived an early scare to defeat Cornwall

Hunslet survived an early scare to defeat Cornwall

Hunslet survived an early scare to defeat Cornwall 36-24 in the day's only fixture in Betfred League One.

Cornwall came into their home fixture against Hunslet off the back of their first victory last weekend over West Wales Raiders.

Neil Kelly's side got off to the perfect start, as Aaron Jones-Bishop spotted a gap in the Hunslet defence to dive underneath the posts.

Centre, Tom Ashton, bumped off Hunslet defenders to touch down on his home debut. Captain, Jamie Prisk converted to put Cornwall into a 12-0 lead inside the opening quarter of the contest.

The visitors hit back through a Macauley Hallett brace to level the scores at 12-12 on the half hour mark.

Hunslet continued their momentum as the half concluded. Harvey Hallas forced his way over to put the West Yorkshire side into a 18-12 lead at the break.

Cornwall, just like the first half, started strong as Liam Whitton raced to score underneath the sticks. Joe Purcell converted to level the scores for the second time.

However, Hunslet struck back and took control of the fixture. Hallett completed his hat-trick, before Josh Jordan-Roberts backed his way over the line to give the visitors a 30-18 lead.

Hunslet extended their lead further on the hour mark as Jack Render touched down a great team move.

Harry Aaronson intercepted from inside his 20 metre line and raced to score a last minute consolation try for the hosts. Purcell converted the goal as the hooter sounded.


Cornwall: Liam Whitton, Decarlo Trerise, Aaron Jones-Bishop, Tom Ashton, Christopher Chard, Harry Aaronson, Joe Purcell, Jack Ray, Sam Guilder, Josh Hartshorne, Charley Bodman, Sam Snell, Jamie Prisk

Interchanges: Josh Tira, Paul Bolger, Will Odgers, Brad Howe


Hunslet: Jimmy Watson, Wayne Rettie, Jacob Doyle, Macauley Hallett, Jack Render, Pat Walker, Jordan Paga, Harvey Hallas, Oliver Burton, Sion Jones, Josh Jordan-Roberts, Jordan Syme,  Joe Summers

Interchanges: Harvey Whiteley, Joe Hird, Matthew Stableford, Cameron Berry